UFC 227 Bonuses: Moicano and Dillashaw Win Performance Awards, Mighty Mouse vs. Cejudo Earns FOTN

UFC 215 Henry Cejudo UFC Brooklyn
Credit: Jeff Sherwood/Sherdog.com

Henry Cejudo and TJ Dillashaw were among the big winners both in the cage and financially at UFC 227.

UFC 227 is in the books, and it certainly shocked fans around the world. At least, Henry Cejudo did when he got the better of Demetrious Johnson, capturing the flyweight title in a hotly contested split decision. Much debate will be had in the coming days about the decision, Johnson’s place in the history books, and much, much more. Of course Johnson, still just 31, has plenty of years left in MMA if he wants them.

Yet for now it’s Cejudo who’s the man of the hour, along with TJ Dillashaw, who won big in the main event. With UFC President Dana White floating him as at least in the conversation as the best bantamtweight of all-time post-fight, the former Ultimate Fighter finalist certainly turned some heads, once again stopping Cody Garbrandt.

When it came time to dish out the bonuses, Cejudo and Dillashaw were easy picks. In besting rival Dillashaw for the second time, finishing him within a round, the bantamweight champion picked up one of two Performance of the Night bonuses at UFC 227. Cejudo, along with Demetrious Johnson, meanwhile, earned Fight of the Night honors for their five round affair.

The lone remaining bonus went to Renato Moicano, who submitted Cub Swanson in the middle fight of the main card, knocking Swanson down with a jab before locking in a choke.