Combate Americas Goes to San Antonio on March 27 with Interim Title Fight

Combate Americas
Andre Barquero victorious against Eduardo Alvarado. Photo: Scott Hirano/Combate Americas

Combate Americas has announced that they will be returning to San Antonio on March 27 with a fight for the interim bantamweight title.

Combate Americas will go to Texas for the first time in 2020 with a fight between Andre Barquero and Victor Madrigal for the interim bantamweight title on March 27.  The fight is set to take place at the Freeman Coliseum and will be simulcast on both AXS TV and Univision.

Andre Barquero (7-2) is looking to make a big jump in just his second fight under the Combate Americas banner.  Carrying experience in both Pancrase and Cage Fury Fighting Championships, Barquero entered the promotion last year with a third round rear-naked choke over Eduardo Osuna in November.  Victor Madrigal (8-3) has been with the promotion since 2017 and is 2-1 in his last three fights going into the bout.

Reigning champion Gustavo Lopez won the title last March and recorded his first title defense against Joey Ruquet in August. No statement was given on what has Lopez out of action or when he would be expected to defend his title against the winner of Barquero and Madrigal.

Also announced for the card is a lightweight matchup with Angel “Tito” Cruz and Raymond Guzman.  Cruz (6-4) goes into the fight with previous experience in LFA and the fight with Guzman is his fourth in the promotion.  Guzman is making his professional debut as an MMA fighter but has several fights as a professional boxer.

The card will also see two female prospects as San Antonio’s Rainn “The Bully” Guerrero and Albuquerque’s Marisa “El Dine” Chavez both make their promotional debuts on the undercard.

Interim Bantamweight Championship Main Event

Andre Barquero vs Victor Madrigal

Lightweight Feature Bout

Angel Cruz vs Raymond Guzman

Undercard Bouts

Rainn Guerrero vs TBA

Marisa Chavez vs Krista Camarillo

Raymond Banda vs David Herrera

Eduardo Alvarado vs Justin Governale

Michael Martinez vs Roy Sarabia

Jose Holguin vs Ricardo Maynez

David Miramontes vs Omar Perales