ONE Championship Results: Demetrious Johnson Gets by Tough Tatsimitsu Wada

Demetrious Johnson, aka Mighty Mouse, makes his ONE Championship debut at A New Era
Demetrious Johnson Credit: ONE Championship

Tatsimitsu Wada made it difficult, but Demetrious Johnson was able to advance to the finals of the flyweight grand prix with a unanimous decision win at ONE Championship: Dawn of Heroes.

Demetrious Johnson started the fight with leg kicks before Tatsumitsu Wada clinched him against the ring. Wada punned him to the corner, attempted a throw, then snuck to the back of Mighty Mouse and pulled him down. Wada established a body triangle and Johnson nearly spun out before Wada kept him where he was. Right before the round ended, Johnson broke free and took top position.

Johnson started the second round with several kicks before the clinch battle began. Wada had him pinned against the ropes first, then when they reached the corner, Johnson reversed and landed a double leg takedown. Mighty Mouse postured up and landed sparse blows before passing guard, reaching side control as time expired.

Wada started the final round with a head kick, but Mighty Mouse caught a kick and landed a single leg. Wada landed some hard elbows to the top of the head of Johnson, then Mighty Mouse passed guard. Wada squirmed back into guard, and Johnson popped him with heavy ground-and-pound that cut him open. Johnson then passed into side control. After Wada returned to guard, the fight was paused to clean up Wada’s cut. Action resumed and Johnson nearly landed a front choke on a spinning Wada. Once Wada stood up, Johnson took his back and landed a beautiful rolling takedown before taking the back again. Wada broke free, clinched up with Johnson after getting nailed with a right hand, then took him to the ground from his back. Time was short though, and Johnson was able to spin out before time expired.

Demetrious Johnson def. Tatsimitsu Wada by Unanimous Decision

With the win, Johnson will face Danny Kingad in the ONE Championship flyweight grand prix final.