PFL 8: MacDonald vs. Taylor Results

Rory MacDonald, PFL 8
Rory MacDonald, PFL 8 Ceremonial Weigh In at the Motorpoint Arena in Cardiff, Wales, Friday, Aug. 12, 2022. (Cooper Neill / PFL)

The Professional Fighters League was in Cardiff, Wales on Saturday for PFL 8, featuring the welterweight and heavyweight 2022 semifinals.

Topping the event was former Bellator MMA champ and UFC title challenger Rory MacDonald, taking on a short-notice opponent in Dilano Taylor. In the second welterweight semifinal, PFL vet Sadibou Sy faced Brazil’s Carlos Leal.

In heavyweight action, former UFC fighter Juan Adams was also in on short notice, against Matheus Scheffel, while Ante Delija faced Renan Ferreira.

Full results from Saturday’s PFL 8 card, airing on ESPN and ESPN+ (TSN in Canada) can be found below.

PFL 8: MacDonald vs. Taylor Results

Post-Liminary Card

Light Heavyweight: Will Fleury def. Anthony Salamone by unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-25) – PFL Europe Qualifiers
Lightweight: Radu Maxim def. Vojto Barborik by submission (injury), Round 1, 1:15 – PFL Europe Qualifiers
Bantamweight: Moktar Benkaci vs. Francesco Nuzzi declared a No Contest (Accidental eye-poke), Round 2 – PFL Europe Qualifiers

Main Card

Welterweight: Dilano Taylor def. Rory MacDonald by TKO, Round 1, 3:59 – 2022 Welterweight Semifinal
Heavyweight: Ante Delija def. Renan Ferreira by TKO, Round 1, 4:31– 2022 Heavyweight Semifinal
Heavyweight: Matheus Scheffel def. Juan Adams by TKO, Round 3, 3:45 – 2022 Heavyweight Semifinal
Welterweight: Sadibou Sy def. Carlos Leal by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-27) – 2022 Welterweight Semifinal
Featherweight: Nathan Kelly def. Ben Ellis by submission (rear naked choke), Round 1, 2:45 – PFL Europe Qualifier

Preliminary Card

Lightweight: Joshua O’Connor def. Emran Sakhizada by submission (rear naked choke), Round 3, 2:56
Light Heavyweight: Marcin Wojcik def. Mick Stanton by submission (rear naked choke), Round 1, 4:04
Welterweight: Chris Mixan def. Christian Stigenberg by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Heavyweight: Szymon Bajor def. Ronny Markes by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-27)
Light Heavyweight: Lee Chadwick vs. Przemyslaw Mysiala