Eagle FC 44: Kharitonov vs. Spong Full Results

Tyrone Spong and Sergei Kharitonov, Eagle FC 44
Tyrone Spong and Sergei Kharitonov, Eagle FC 44 weigh-in Credit: Eagle FC

Khabib Nurmagomedov brought his Eagle FC to U.S. shores on Friday, with Eagle FC 44 marking the American debut of the promotion.

A card littered with familiar names, Nurmagomedov’s burgeoning promotion brought with it a heavyweight main event featuring Tyrone Spong against Sergei Kharitonov.

A veteran of PRIDE, Bellator MMA, and everything in between, Kharitonov was set to welcome Spong back to the the cage after an eight-year absence. During his time away from MMA, Spong, a decorated kickboxer, had amassed a 14-0 record in boxing.

The evening’s co-main event featured the return of Rashad Evans. The UFC Hall of Famer and former light heavyweight champion had retired following a 2018 loss to Anthony Smith. But as is often the case with MMA retirements, it didn’t stick. Evans was set to face Gabriel Checco on the card.

Also in action, former UFC title challenger Ray Borg, against fellow UFC alum Cody Gibson, and other notable names including John “Doomsday” Howard, Anthony Njukuani, Shawn Bunch, and Yorgan De Castro.

The Eagle FC 44 card takes place Friday, January 28, 2022 at the FLX Arena in Miami, Florida. The event streams live on FLX Cast.

Eagle FC 44: Kharitonov vs. Spong

Main Card

Sergei Kharitonov  def. Tyrone Spong by TKO, Round 2, 2:55
Rashad Evans def. Gabriel Checco by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Ray Borg def. Cody Gibson by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-27, 29-28)
Ramazan Kuramagomedov def. John Howard by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Raimond Magomedaliev def. Anthony Njokuani by TKO, Round 1, 2:49

Preliminary Card

Dylan Salvador def. Arman Ospanov by TKO (corner stoppage), Round 2, 5:00
Yorgan De Castro def. Shaun Asher by submission (guillotine choke), Round 1, 1:04
Demarques Jackson def. Miles Hunsinger by TKO, Round 1, 0:54
Shawn Bunch def. Firdavs Khasanov by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Loik Radzhabov def. Zach Zane by submission (guillotine choke), Round 1, 3:23
Ayadi Majdeddine def. Sitik Muduev by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here