World MMA Awards 2019: Cormier, Nunes Win Twice

Credit: UFC//twitter

Daniel Cormier and Amanda Nunes both won twice at Wednesday night’s World MMA Awards 2019, with Cormier winning a trophy for work both inside and outside of the cage.

The 2019 World MMA Awards went down Wednesday night in Las Vegas, allowing MMA’s finest an extra moment of glory. Presented by Fighters Only, the annual show has become synonymous with the UFC’s International Fight Week, even without an official link between the two.

This most recent edition saw the biggest surprise come in the form of some double champs who were also double winners. Amanda Nunes claimed Female Fighter of the Year — but she also took home the award for Knockout of the Year, for her shocking defeat of Cris Cyborg at UFC 232.

Daniel Cormier may have pulled off an even more impressive feat by winning awards for work both inside and outside of the cage. Cormier won Fighter of the Year, but also picked up the Analyst of the Year trophy for his work on UFC broadcasts.

Fight of the Year, which had Dustin Poirier vs. Justin Gaethje in the running, wound up going to Tony Ferguson vs. Anthony Pettis, for this wild scrap at UFC 229. Breakthrough Fighter of the Year, meanwhile, was awarded to Israel Adesanya, and it’s hard to deny he’s earned it, with a stellar run in 2018.

The UFC won best promotion, as they have every year since 2008, while Jhenny Andrade won Ringcard Girl of the Year for the third straight year. Check below for full results from the show!

Fighter of the Year

Khabib Nurmagomedov

Gegard Mousasi

Dustin Poirier

Daniel Cormier

Aung La Nsang

Winner: Daniel Cormier

Female Fighter of the Year

Valentina Shevchenko

Tatiana Suarez

Jessica Andrade

Ilima-Lei Macfarlane

Amanda Nunes

Winner: Amanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter of the Year

Thiago Santos

Israel Adesanya

Anthony Smith

A.J. McKee

Aaron Pico

Winner: Israel Adesanya

International Fighter of the Year

Khabib Nurmagomedov

Kamaru Usman

Israel Adesanya

Gegard Mousasi

Aung La Nsang

Winner: Aung La N Sang

Fight of the Year

Robert Whittaker vs. Yoel Romero 2 – UFC 225

Thiago Santos vs. Jimi Manuwa – UFC 231

Douglas Lima vs. Rory Macdonald – Bellator 192

Dustin Poirier vs. Justin Gaethje – UFC on FOX 29

Tony Ferguson vs. Anthony Pettis – UFC 229

Winner: Tony Ferguson vs. Anthony Pettis – UFC 229

Knockout of the Year

Jair Rodriguez vs. Chan Sung Jung – UFC Fight Night 139

Cris Cyborg vs. Amanda Nunes – UFC 232

Mandel Nallo vs. Carrington Banks – Bellator 207

Vitor Belfort vs. Lyoto Machida – UFC 224

Brian Ortega vs. Frankie Edgar – UFC 222

Winner: Cris Cyborg vs. Amanda Nunes – UFC 232

Submission of the Year

Tyson Pedro vs. Saparbek Safarov – UFC 221

Donald Cerrone vs. Mike Perry – UFC Fight Night 139

Zabit Magomedsharipov vs. Brandon Davis – UFC 228

Aljamain Sterling vs. Cody Stamann – UFC 228

Ryan Hall vs. B.J. Penn – UFC 232

Winner: Zabit Magomedsharipov vs. Brandon Davis – UFC 228

Comeback of the Year

Claudio Silva vs. Nordine Taleb – UFC Fight Night 130

Tony Ferguson – Injury

Paul Craig vs. Magomed Ankalaev – UFC Fight Night 127

Derrick Lewis vs. Alexander Volkov – UFC 229

Angela Lee

Winner: Angela Lee

Upset of the Year

Khalil Rountree Jr. vs. Gokhan Saki – UFC 226

Alexander Hernandez vs. Beneil Dariush – UFC 222

Ray Cooper vs. Jake Shields – PFL

Amanda Nunes vs. Cris Cyborg – UFC 232

Henry Cejudo vs. Demetrious Johnson – UFC 227

Winner: Amanda Nunes vs. Cris Cyborg – UFC 232

Coach of the Year

Din Thomas

Firas Zahabi

Mike Brown

Trevor Wittman

Javier Mendez

Winner: Mike Brown

Trainer of the Year

Michelle Ingels

Sam Calavitta

George Lockhart

Nick Curson

Phil Daru

Gym of the Year

Factory X

City Kickboxing




Winner: ATT

Referee of the Year

Josh Rosenthal

Dan Miragliotta

Mike Beltran

Herb Dean

Marc Goddard

Winner: Herb Dean

Ringcard Girl of the Year

Carly Baker

Jhenny Andrade

Summer Daniels

Arianny Celeste

Mercedes Terrell

Winner: Jhenny Andrade

Leading Man

Dana White

Jeff Novitzky

Martin Lewandowski

Chatri Sityodtong

Scott Coker

Winner: Dana White

Best Promotion



ONE Championship



Winner: UFC

Personality of the Year

Jon Anik

Chael Sonnen

John McCarthy

Brendan Schaub

Joe Rogan

Analyst of the Year

Robin Black

Michael Bisping

Paul Felder

Daniel Cormier

Dominick Cruz

Winner: Daniel Cormier

Best MMA Programming

The MMA Hour


UFC Embedded

Dana White’s Contender Series

Anatomy of a Fighter

MMA Media Source of the Year


MMA Fighting

MMA Junkie

Bloody Elbow


Winner: MMA Fighting

MMA Journalist of the Year

Chuck Mindenhall

John Morgan

Brett Okamoto

Ariel Helwani

Karim Zidan

Winner: Ariel Helwani

MMA Clothing & Equipment Brand of the Year