RIZIN 13: Nasukawa vs. Horiguchi Results

Tenshin Nasukawa RIZIN FF
Tenshin Nasukawa vs Yamato Fujita Credit: RIZIN FF

RIZIN 13 saw a kickboxing super-fight between Tenshin Nasukawa and Kyoji, plus the return of Mirko Cro-Cop and Bob Sapp in the kind of card that only the Japanese promotion could offer.

RIZIN Fighting Federation returned to action on Sunday, September 30 with a card simply brimming with intriguing story lines. First and foremost, there was a generational battle in the main event. Tenshin Nasukawa had proven to be a phenom in both kickboxing and MMA. Kyoji Horiguchi, meanwhile, had long been the best flyweight (and now bantamweight) outside the UFC. In an MMA fight, Horiguchi would be the clear favorite. Yet the RIZIN 13 main event was under kickboxing rules — which could give Tenshin Nasukawa the edge.

Then there was the return of Miyuu Yamamoto, in a rematch against ‘The CrAsian’ Andy Nguyen. The rematch itself would be notable, as Nguyen had won the pair’s first meeting two years ago. However, Yamamoto’s brother Norifumi, a.k.a. the legendary Kid Yamamoto, had passed away just week’s earlier. A loss that would no doubt weigh on the wrestler.

RIZIN 13 also offered the return of Mirko Cro-Cop, edging ever closer to retirement. Probably. Cro-Cop had been set to meet Roy Nelson at Bellator 200 over the Summer but was forced to withdraw due to injury. On Sunday, he took on Rogue Martinez in Saitama.

Bob Sapp was on the card as well, along with Daron Cruickshank facing former TUF standout Diego Brandao.

RIZIN 13 Results:

Tenshin Nasukawa def. Kyoji Horiguchi by unanimous decision
Jiri Prochazka def. Jake Heun by TKO (strikes), Round 1, 4:29
Mikura Asakura def. Karshyga Dautbek by unanimous decision
Daron Cruickshank def. Diego Brandao by knockout (flying knee), Round 1, 5:18
Miyuu Yamamoto def. Andy Nguyen by unanimous decision
Mirko Cro Cop def. Roque Martinez by TKO (doctor stoppage), Round 1, 4:58
Bob Sapp def. Kintaro Osunaarashi via unanimous decision
Haruo Ochi def. Mitsuhisa Sunabe by knockout (soccer kick) Round 3, 2:51
Kai Asakura def. Topnoi Thanongsakiek via unanimous decision
Ayaka Hamasaki vs. Mina Kurobe: Hamasaki def Kurobe via Kimura in Round 2
Taiga Kawabe vs. Kento Haraguchi – Kickboxing Rules: Bout ends in a draw
Manel Kape vs. Yusaku Nakamura: Kape def Nakamura via RNC in Round 3