Former Champs Aoki, Kadestam Return at ONE Championship: Unbreakable

Zebaztian Kadestam ONE Championship
Zebaztian Kadestam Credit: ONE Championship

January 22 will see the first live event of 2021 from Asian MMA promotion ONE Championship — and the card will see the return of two former champions.

ONE: Unbreakable will be headlined by ONE Bantamweight Kickboxing action, as ONE World Champion Alaverdi “Babyface Killer” Ramazanov puts his belt on the line against Thailand’s Capitan Petchyindee Academy.

On the MMA side of things, meanwhile, Shinya Aoki (45-9, 1NC), the former ONE lightweight champion, will go up against America’s James Nakashima (12-1). After coming up short in a bid for the promotion’s welterweight title, Nakashima will be making the move to lightweight here.

Aoki vs. Nakashima will serve as the card’s co-main event. ONE Championship officials announced the news in a press release Tuesday.

Also set for ONE Championship’s Unbreakable event, former welterweight champ Zebaztian Kadestam (12-5) will face undefeated Russian standout Gadzhimurad Abdulaev (5-0).

The full bout list for ONE Championship: Unbreakable, which will take place at the Singapore Indoor Stadium in Kallang, Singapore can be found below.

ONE Bantamweight Kickboxing World Championship
(C) Alaverdi Ramazanov vs. (2) Capitan Petchyindee Academy
Bantamweight: 61.3 KG – 65.8 KG

Mixed Martial Arts
(4) Shinya Aoki vs. James Nakashima
Lightweight: 70.4 KG – 77.1 KG

Rade Opacic vs. Patrick Schmid
Heavyweight: 102.2 KG – 120.2 KG

Mixed Martial Arts
Zebaztian Kadestam vs. Gadzhimurad Abdulaev
Welterweight: 77.2 KG – 83.9 KG

Mixed Martial Arts
(2) Meng Bo vs. Samara Santos
Atomweight: 47.7 KG – 52.2 KG

Mixed Martial Arts
Hexigetu vs. Lito Adiwang
Strawweight: 52.3 KG – 56.7 KG

ONE: Unbreakable II and ONE: Unbreakable III will be filmed the same night, and air on January 29 and February 5. Heavyweight action will headline Unbreakable II, in the form of Mauro Cerilli vs. Abdulbasir Vagabov. Unbreakable III will be topped by Stamp Fairtex vs. Alyona Rassohyna, also under the MMA rule set.