UFC Fight Island 3 Medical Suspensions: Plenty of Winners Get 30 Days

UFC Octagon
Fight Island. Credit: UFC

The UFC’s final stop on Fight Island was filled with close, back-and-forth bouts. Although no Fight of the Night bonus was given, there was plenty of close scorecards and overall dog fights. As a result, even some of the winning fighters from the card saw 30 day medical suspensions for hard fought bouts — usually the longest that the UFC or an athletic commission will give out without a major injury.

Among those taking a full month off is Robert Whittaker, whose 5-round bout with Darren Till was deemed tough enough to warrant the suspension. Carla Esparza will also be on the shelf for a month following her close win over Marina Rodriguez. Other winners getting the full 30 days are Nathaniel Wood, Pannie Kianzad, Francisco Trinaldo, and Paul Craig.

The other major suspension of note is Peter Sobotta, who appears to have suffered an injury to his right forearm during his unanimous decision loss to Alex Oliveira. It’s unclear when that injury took place, but what is clear is that he’ll have 6 months off before returning to action. Of course, he can be cleared early should he have a clean x-ray of the injured arm.

Below is a full list of the medical suspensions for the event. All suspensions are handed down internally due to a lack of commission on Fight Island.

Robert Whittaker – 30 days
Darren Till – 30 days
Shogun Rua – 7 days
Antonio Rogerio Nogueira – 30 days
Fabricio Werdum – 7 days
Alexander Gustafsson – 30 days
Carla Esparza – 30 days
Marina Rodriguez – 30 days
Paul Craig – 30 days
Gadzhimurad Antigulov – 30 days
Alex Oliveira – 7 days
Peter Sobotta – 180 days or until clear x-ray on right forearm
Khamzat Chimaev – 7 days
Rhys McKee – 45 days
Francisco Trinaldo – 30 days
Jai Herbert – 45 days
Jesse Ronson – 7 days
Nicholas Dalby – 21 days
Tom Aspinall – 7 days
Jake Collier – 45 days
Movsar Evloev – 7 days
Mike Grundy – 180 days or until cleared by OMF
Tanner Boser – 7 days
Raphael Pessoa – 45 days
Pannie Kianzad – 30 days
Bethe Correia – 30 days
Ramazan Emeev – 7 days
Niklas Stolze – 7 days
Nathaniel Wood – 30 days
John Castaneda – 30 days

Figures originally reported by Kirik Jenness