RIZIN 14: Mayweather vs. Nasukawa Rules Announced, Promo Video Released

At an open workout on Thursday in Las Vegas, the rules and weight for the New Year’s meeting between Floyd Mayweather Jr. and Tenshin Nasukawa were unveiled.

After a slight hiccup in announcing the fight, it appears Floyd Mayweather Jr. vs. Tenshin Nasukawa will take place at RIZIN 14 on New Year’s Eve. As expected, however, it will not be an MMA or even kickboxing contest. Instead, the match will be a full-contact exhibition boxing match.

Not what fans were hoping for, but not at all surprising, either. RIZIN announced the rule set for the match-up at an open workout and media day in Las Vegas, followed by a press release early Friday.

Per RIZIN’s statement, the rules for Mayweather v. Nasukawa are as follows:

  • Three minutes per round for three rounds
  • Straight boxing rules
  • Both will wear RIZIN 8oz gloves
  • Weight: 147lbs/67.7kg
  • No judges
  • This will be a full contact competition, but the bout is not going on boxing or MMA records

Mayweather was quoted as saying that “this is a great way for me to go out there and give people some entertainment. It’s an exhibition match, but it’s giving me a chance to do something different.”

“I love competing against fighters from all walks of life like in my amateur days. It’s all about entertainment. Nine minutes of entertainment. It’s going to be amazing,” he added per RIZIN’s press release. “I’m in the entertainment business. That’s what I go out there to do. I love to do this. I’m working out to put on a show for three rounds.”

RIZIN 14 takes place on New Year’s Eve at the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan. The full card as announced to date can be found below.

RIZIN 14 Card:

Darrion Caldwell vs. Kyoji Horiguchi
Floyd Mayweather vs. Tenshin Nasukawa
Ayaka Hamasaki vs. Kanna Asakura
Ulka Sasaki vs. Manel Kape
Yusuke Yachi vs. Johnny Case
Rena Kubota vs. Samantha Jean-Francois
Yuki Motoya vs. Justin Scoggins
Kazuyuki Miyata vs. Erson Yamamoto
Nobumitsu Tyson vs. Tofiq Musayev
Daron Cruickshank vs. Damien Brown
Shinju Nozawa Auclair vs. Justyna Haba
Jiri Prochazka vs. Emanuel Newton