BTC’s 2nd Annual MMA Awards Results

Adam Assenza
Adam Assenza (right) Credit: BTC

BTC’s 2nd Annual MMA Awards went down at the Waterfront Hotel in Burlington, Ontario on Saturday, January 18, 2020. The finest that BTC Fight Promotion has to offer were recognized with champions and prospects alike coming out.  Categories like knockout, submission, and fight of the year were classic staples to go by. Also handed out were more unique awards like the “Tough as Nails” award and “best weigh-in staredown” award.

Over the past few years, BTC has risen to become a bright spot in the Canadian MMA scene, helping bring the sport back to the forefront in their home province of Ontario.

BTC 2nd Annual MMA Awards

Best Walk Out: Dave Henry

MMA Journalist of the Year: Jason Hagholm

Best Nickname: Dave “Machine Gun” Tharm

Best Weigh-In Staredown: Adam Assenza vs Josh Wick

Photograph of the Year: Patrick Duffy

Tough as Nails: Lindsay Garbatt

Break Through Fighter of the Year: Teshay Gouthro

Rookie of the Year: Matt Speciale

Coach of the Year: Paul Jalbert and Lyndon Whitlock

Gym of the Year: Niagara Top Team

Submission of the Year:  Bobby Poulter

People’s Choice Award: Adam Assenza

Knockout of the Year: Serhiy Sidey

Fight of the Year: Adam Assenza vs Hamilton Ash

Fighter of the Year: Scott Hudson

Fighter of the Decade: Scott Hudson

For more information on BTC Fight Promotions, check out their website and social media. Their next show, BTC 9: Rampage goes Saturday, February 29. It emanates from  The Aud in Kitchener, Ontario.

Previous articleUFC 246: Aleksei Oleinik Says Fabricio Werdum’s Jiu-Jitsu Is Not Better Than His
Next articleReaction to Conor Mcgregor’s Return as Predictable as It Is Sad
I've been enamored with combat sports for as long as I can remember. I've hosted MMA talk shows Lights Out and Pure Fight Radio with featured guests like Jens Pulver, Roy Nelson, Miesha Tate, Mark Coleman, and more. I've been an MMA broadcaster for XFFC as well as BTC and have done play by play commentary on live pay per view on GFL as well as FITE TV. I've provided written, audio, and video content covering some of the biggest MMA promotions like Rumble in the Cage, Unified MMA, and King of the Cage. I've worked as a sports entertainment personality for over five years and given play-by-play or featured promotions of KSW, ONE Championship, TKO, and Invicta FC. My work can be found in the USA Today Sports affiliate MMA Torch, Cageside Press, MMA Sucka, My MMA News, Sports Betting Dime and Liberty Multimedia.

Leave a Reply